Zin Boats Z2R

The young Seattle startup wants to be to shipbuilding what Tesla has been to the auto industry.

While automakers are actively introducing new electrical solutions, shipbuilders have done almost nothing to stop the use of internal combustion engines. And for this reason, many modern boats technically differ little from the models developed in the 70s of the last century. And the founder of Zin Boats hopes to correct this situation.

The Z2R, a 6m speedboat with a minimalist silver bullet design, is made almost entirely of carbon fiber, making it less than half the weight of a comparable vessel built using traditional materials. A single battery charge is enough to cover hundreds of miles, despite the fact that the subsequent charge will cost at least $5, despite the fact that a regular electrical outlet is enough for it. Plus, there is no need for constant maintenance.

Zin Boats Z2R
Zin Boats Z2R

The founder of the company, Peter Zin, has been designing racing sailboats for 20 years. He also works in industrial design for BMW, GM and other major companies. The idea to create an electric boat came to him after he settled in a houseboat on Lake Union in Seattle. Zina was concerned about the issue of environmental pollution. According to him, he is afraid that when his little child grows up, he simply will not have any reservoirs left.

Zin Boats Z2R
Zin Boats Z2R

Interestingly, at the beginning of the 20th century, shipbuilders were actively experimenting with electric motors, as well as automakers. However, due to the lack of fast-charging, lightweight, capacious and reliable batteries, work on the creation of electric vehicles was practically abandoned. The technologies of those years made it possible to create ships capable of speeds of 3-5 knots and requiring constant recharging. Batteries have been preserved, in fact, only on diesel submarines, and even then only for movement under water.

Zin Boats Z2R

But everything changed with the advent of inexpensive and capacious lithium-ion batteries. Z2R is capable of speeds of 33 knots. At the same time, Zin claims that the maximum speed of the vessel reaches 55 knots, but it was artificially limited for safety reasons. At the same time, as in the case of electric vehicles, the electric boat is characterized by very fast acceleration, noiselessness and lack of vibration when driving. Also noted is the fact that the use of an electric motor has greatly simplified the design of the boat, making the Z2R very stable even when driving at high speeds.

Zin Boats Z2R

Zeen is proud to have designed the boat himself from scratch, using both the latest software and traditional scale models. According to him, "shipbuilding is a very traditional business" in which few people think about innovation. And it was the use of modern programs that allowed him to quickly create such a remarkable vessel.

Zin Boats Z2R

A lot of attention was paid to the design of the cabin, everything is very simple, but at the same time luxurious. And it is not surprising, because the $250,000 boat will be purchased by people who are used to driving Mercedes and other similar cars. By the way, now Zin is working on a new boat model, which will cost $175,000 already.

The Z2R has been repeatedly compared with Tesla roadster. According to Zin, he already has quite a few buyers (especially from Europe, where environmental standards are stricter) and there are practically no competitors. Those that are, in fact, just take a regular boat and put an electric motor on it and are not able to offer a sufficiently long time of movement on a single charge. The creation of Zin Boats is innovative in every way. And he clearly has a great future ahead of him.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Zin Boats Z2R

Молодой стартап из Сиэтла хочет стать для судостроения тем, чем Tesla стала для автомобильной промышленности.

В то время как автопроизводители активно представляют всё новые электрические решения, корабелы пока не сделали практически ничего для того, чтобы отказаться от использования двигателей внутреннего сгорания. И по этой причине многие современные катера технически мало чем отличаются от моделей, разрабатывавшихся в 70-х годах прошлого века. И основатель Zin Boats надеется исправить эту ситуацию.

Представленный компанией 6-метровый скоростной катер Z2R с минималистичным дизайном, похожий на серебряную пулю, почти полностью изготовлен из углеродного волокна, благодаря чему он весит меньше половины сопоставимого судна, построенного с применением традиционных материалов. Одного заряда аккумуляторных батарей достаточно для преодоления сотен миль, при том, что последующая зарядка обойдётся от силы в $5, при том, что для неё достаточно обычной электрической розетки. Плюс отсутствие необходимости в постоянном техническом обслуживании.

Zin Boats Z2R
Zin Boats Z2R

Основатель компании Пётр Зин занимается проектированием гоночных парусных судов в течение 20 лет. Он также работает в области промышленного дизайна в BMW, GM и других крупных компаниях. Идея создать электрический катер пришла к нему после того, как он поселился в плавучем доме на озере Юнион в Сиэтле. Зина обеспокоил вопрос загрязнения окружающей среды. По его словам, он боится, что когда его маленький ребёнок вырастет, то ему просто не останется водоёмов.

Zin Boats Z2R
Zin Boats Z2R

Интересно, что в начале 20-го века кораблестроители активно экспериментировали с электродвигателями, так же как и автопроизводители. Однако из-за отсутствия быстрозаряжаемых, лёгких, ёмких и надёжных батарей от работ по созданию электротранспорта практически отказались. Технологии тех лет позволяли создавать суда, способные развивать скорость в 3-5 узлов и требующие постоянной подзарядки. Аккумуляторы сохранились по сути только на дизельных подводных лодках, да и то только для движения под водой.

Zin Boats Z2R

Но всё изменилось с появлением недорогих и ёмких литий-ионных батарей. Z2R способен развивать скорость в 33 узла. При этом Зин утверждает, что максимальная скорость судна достигает 55 узлов, но её искусственно ограничили в целях безопасности. При этом, так же как и в случае с электромобилями, электрический катер отличается очень быстрым разгоном, бесшумностью и отсутствием вибрации при движении. Также отмечается и тот факт, что использование электрического двигателя позволило значительно упростить конструкцию катера, благодаря чему Z2R очень устойчив даже при движении на высоких скоростях.

Zin Boats Z2R

Зин гордится тем, что сам спроектировал катер с нуля, используя как новейшее программное обеспечение, так традиционные масштабные модели. По его словам, «судостроение – очень традиционный бизнес», в котором мало кто думает об инновациях. И именно использование современных программ и позволило ему быстро создать столь примечательное судно.

Zin Boats Z2R

Много внимания было уделено оформлению кабины, в ней всё очень просто, но одновременно с этим и роскошно. И не удивительно, ведь катер стоимостью в 250 000 долларов будут приобретать люди, привыкшие ездить на «Мерседесах» и других подобных авто. Кстати, сейчас Зин трудится над новой моделью катера, которая будет стоить уже 175 000 долларов.

Z2R уже неоднократно сравнивали с Tesla Roadster. По словам Зина, у него уже довольно много покупателей (особенно из Европы, где экологические нормы строже) и практически нет конкурентов. Те же, что есть, фактически просто берут обычный катер и ставят на него электродвигатель и не в состоянии предложить достаточно долгое время движения на одном заряде. Творение же Zin Boats – инновационное во всех отношениях. И его явно ждёт большое будущее.

Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , .
Похожая запись

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *