Hugo Boss Yacht

Yachtsman Alex Thomson, who was considered the favorite of the current round-the-world regatta Vendée Globe, is leaving the competition.

The reason Thomson is forced to leave the race is the rudder damage on his yacht HUGO BOSS. The incident occurred on the 19th day of the race in the South Atlantic. For 5 days, the yachtsman tried to fix the damage on his own, but it turned out to be impossible.

Thomson is now en route to Cape Town. It is expected that for this it will take about 7 days, during which it is necessary to cover a distance of 1800 nautical miles. Because of the damage, the yachtsman plans to make this journey with the utmost care. A technical team will be waiting for him in Cape Town.

Alex Thomson
A photo: Alex ThomsonHugo Boss

According to Alex himself: “Unfortunately, repairs are not possible. Therefore, we agree that this will be the end of the race for us. I, my team and our partners, of course, are deeply disappointed. But we believe that the best is yet to come in this race.”

The British skipper is participating in the Vendée Globe for the 5th time. He finished 3rd in the 2012-2013 season and 2nd in the 2016-2017 season. And many were sure that this time he has to take first place.

But during such a difficult competition, anything can happen. And this is not the first time in Alex's sports career that he has been forced to leave the Vendée Globe due to a breakdown. The first time this happened was in his first race in 2004-2005 when his boom swivel failed. And during the second race in 2008-2009, Alex's yacht was seriously damaged due to a storm in the Bay of Biscay and was forced to leave the competition.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Яхта Hugo boss

Яхтсмен Алекс Томсон, считавшийся фаворитом проходящей в эти дни кругосветной регаты Vendée Globe, покидает соревнование.

Причина, по которой Томсон вынужден оставить гонку – повреждение руля у его яхты HUGO BOSS. Инцидент произошёл в 19-й день гонки в Южной Атлантике. В течение 5 дней яхтсмен пытался самостоятельно исправить повреждение, но это оказалось невозможным.

Сейчас Томсон находится по пути в Кейптаун. Ожидается, что для этого ему потребуется порядка 7 дней, в течение которых необходимо преодолеть расстояние в 1800 морских миль. Из-за повреждения яхтсмен планирует проделать этот путь с максимальной осторожностью. В Кейптаун его будет ждать техническая команда.

Алекс Томсон
Фото: Алекс Томсон, Hugo Boss

По заявлению самого Алекса: «К сожалению, ремонт невозможен. Поэтому мы согласны с тем, что это станет для нас концом гонки. Я, моя команда и наши партнёры, конечно же, глубоко разочарованы. Но мы верим, что в этой гонке лучшее ещё впереди».

Британский шкипер уже в 5-й раз участвует в Vendée Globe. Он занял 3-е место в сезоне 2012-2013 годов, и второе в сезоне 2016-2017 годов. И многие были уверены, что на этот раз у него есть занять первое место.

Но во время столь сложного состязания произойти может всё, что угодно. И это уже не первый случай в спортивной карьере Алекса, когда он вынужден покинуть Vendée Globe из-за поломки. Первый раз это произошло в его первой гонке, происходившей в 2004-2005 годах, когда у него вышел из строя вертлюг гика. А во время второй гонки 2008-2009 годов, яхта Алекса серьёзно пострадала из-за шторма в Бискайском заливе и вынуждена была покинуть соревнование.


Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *