Yacht American Magic

During the qualifying race for the America's Cup, the American Magic's AC75 Patriot capsized and was badly damaged.

It all happened in the second leg of the race in Oakland, in which the Patriot was in the lead, going 13 seconds from Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli. An unexpectedly strong gust of wind threw the yacht into the air, followed by a strong blow to the water. The yacht received damage to the port side, after which it capsized on board. Fortunately, none of the 11 crew members were hurt.

Yacht American Magic
Yacht American Magic

Since the yacht had fallen to port, no one could immediately assess the extent of the damage received. Having followed the well-established procedures, the team managed to quickly put the ship on the keel, after which it became clear that it was badly damaged and the hull quickly filled with water.

Yacht American Magic
Yacht American Magic

As a result, thanks to the well-coordinated actions of the team and the support group, the yacht was saved from flooding by using pumps and additional watercraft. Competitor teams also came to the aid of the injured Patriot. In order to tow the ship to the shore, it took a lot of time, the rescuers were transported until dark. The damage received by the yacht is currently being assessed, according to preliminary data, the ship's nose was badly damaged.

This incident will certainly be a serious problem, especially considering that only 12 days remain until the Prada Cup semi-finals. However, the team american magic optimistic. The incident that happened showed her excellent skills.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Яхта American Magic

Во время отборочной гонки Кубка Америки яхта AC75 Patriot команды American Magic опрокинулась и получила серьёзные повреждения.

Всё случилось на втором этапе гонки в Окланде, в котором Patriot лидировала, идя с отрывом в 13 секунд от Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli. Неожиданно сильный порыв ветра подбросил яхту в воздух, после чего последовал сильный удар об воду. Яхта получила повреждения левого борта, после чего опрокинулась на борт. К счастью, никто из 11-ти членов экипажа не пострадал.

Яхта American Magic
Яхта American Magic

Поскольку яхта завалилась на левый борт, никто не смог сразу же оценить масштабы полученных повреждений. Выполнив отработанные процедуры, команда сумела быстро поставить судно на киль, после чего стало ясно, что оно сильно пострадало и корпус быстро наполняется водой.

Яхта American Magic
Яхта American Magic

В итоге, благодаря слаженным действиям команды и группы поддержки, яхту удалось спасти от затопления, задействовав насосы и дополнительные плавсредства. На помощь пострадавшей Patriot пришли также и команды конкурентов. Для того чтобы отбуксировать судно к берегу, потребовалось немало времени, спасатели провозились до темноты. Сейчас производится оценка полученных яхтой повреждений, по предварительным данным у судна сильно пострадал нос.

Данный инцидент, безусловно, будет серьёзной проблемой, особенно с учётом того, что до полуфинала Prada Cup осталось всего 12 дней. Однако команда American Magic настроена оптимистично. Произошедший же инцидент показал её отличную выучку.


Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *