36th America's Cup kicks off in Auckland

Yesterday in Auckland started the first race of the final of the 36th America's Cup - one of the most famous and prestigious yachting international regattas.

The first day of the competition, which was postponed for four days due to quarantine restrictions related to the coronavirus infection, confirmed that the “battle” for the oldest trophy in sailing will be interesting and exciting. Emirates Team New Zealand, the Cup winner, and the Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli crew from Italy, the main prize candidate, entered the first competition.

36th America's Cup kicks off in Auckland

TNZ won the opening race, beating the opponent at the finish line for more than 30 seconds. Despite the fact that Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli failed to start, the Italian athletes were able to bounce back and win the second race, seven seconds ahead of the New Zealand crew.

TNZ skipper Peter Beurling admitted that his team was not in the best shape in the first race, as they had been waiting for the results of the selection of the main "candidate" for about two months and practically did not train. Italian yachtsmen, on the contrary, strengthened their leadership in competitions, and approached the final stage of the regatta in excellent shape.

36th America's Cup kicks off in Auckland

Luna Rossa skipper Jimmy Spithill said after winning the second race: "It was one of those racetracks where I felt like our yacht had the upper hand." He added that: "It's great to be competitive, it's great to win the race and look forward to tomorrow."

Thus, according to the results of the first day of the regatta, the score is 1-1.

The next two races should take place tomorrow. Then the competition will be held every day until one of the teams wins seven victories. 


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

В Окленде стартовал 36-й Кубок Америки

Вчера в Окленде стартовали первые гонки финала 36-го Кубка Америки — одной из самых известных и престижных яхтенных международных регат.

Первый день состязаний, который был отложен на четыре дня из-за карантинных ограничений, связанных с коронавирусной инфекцией, подтвердил, что «битва» за самый старый трофей в парусном спорте будет интересной и захватывающей. На старт первого состязания вышли новозеландская команда Emirates Team New Zealand — «обладатель» кубка, и экипаж Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli из Италии —  «кандидат» на главный приз.

В Окленде стартовал 36-й Кубок Америки

Победу в стартовой гонке одержала TNZ, выигрывая у соперника на финишной линии более 30 секунд. Несмотря на то, что Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli провалила старт, итальянские спортсмены смогли отыграться и выиграть вторую гонку, на семь секунд опередив экипаж Новой Зеландии.

Шкипер TNZ Питер Берлинг признал, что его команда была не в лучшей форме в первой гонке, поскольку на протяжении примерно двух месяцев они ожидали результатов отбора главного «кандидата» и практически не тренировались. Итальянские яхтсмены наоборот, усиливали лидерство в состязаниях, и подошли к финальному этапу регаты в отличной форме.

В Окленде стартовал 36-й Кубок Америки

Шкипер Luna Rossa Джимми Спитхилл после победы во второй гонке отметил: «Это была одна из тех гоночных трасс, где я чувствовал, что наша яхта имеет преимущество». Он добавил, что: «Здорово быть конкурентоспособным, здорово одерживать победу в гонке и с нетерпением ждать завтрашнего дня».

Таким образом по результатам первого дня регаты счет 1-1.

Следующие две гонки должны состояться уже завтра. Затем состязания будут проходить каждый день, пока одна из команд не одержит семь побед. 


Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.