The New Zealand team retained the America's Cup by defeating Italy's Luna Rossa 7-3.

This is Team New Zealand's second victory at the most prestigious event in the world of sailing. In 2017, she defeated Oracle Team USA 7-1. Prior to that, teams from New Zealand won victories in 1995 and 2000.

It was also the second win in a row for 30-year-old Team New Zealand helmsman Peter Beurling, adding another title to his roster of nine world championships and Olympic gold and silver medals.

Team New Zealand has completed one of the most unusual stages of the America's Cup, which has been fought since 1851. This time there were no usual crowds of spectators on the shore watching the competition. Strict restrictions imposed due to the coronavirus pandemic have kept local residents at home. Foreigners could not come to the country at all. The race schedule also had to be changed several times to accommodate the strict and changing lockdown rules that sometimes caused competition delays.

Also this year's America's Cup featured a new class of boat - 75-foot monohulls that can literally fly over water at speeds of up to 60 miles per hour. And no one managed this flight better than Team New Zealand.

During the first six races of the final, everything was very simple - win the start, win the race. In each of these races, the team that won at the start also reached the finish line first. These competitions, without drama, demonstrated the skill of the teams and the splendor of their yachts, but at the same time were frankly boring. But that all changed on Monday, when Team New Zealand managed to break the established "tradition" and take the lead, taking advantage of the increased wind. The day ended with a score of 5-3.

Tuesday's competition had to be postponed due to light winds. But this only delayed what was already so obvious - the victory of the New Zealand team. The desired goal was achieved on Wednesday.

According to the second helmsman Luna Rossa Francesco Bruni, they didn't lose because they made any mistakes. It's just that Team New Zealand "was faster". According to Bruni, he has no regrets and it was a "fantastic race". And one cannot but agree with this statement.

New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said: Team New Zealand made the whole country proud. And the government will provide all the necessary support so that the team can again take part in the fight for the America's Cup in 2023.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Новозеландская команда сохранила за собой Кубок Америки, победив итальянскую Luna Rossa с итоговым счётом 7-3.

Это уже вторая победа Team New Zealand на самом престижном соревновании в мире парусного спорта. В 2017 году она победила американскую Oracle Team USA со счётом 7-1. До этого команды из Новой Зеландии одерживали победы в 1995 и 2000 годах.

Это также стало второй победой подряд для 30-летнего рулевого Team New Zealand Питера Берлинга, добавившему ещё один титул к своему «послужному списку», который уже включает девять чемпионатов мира, а также олимпийские золотые и серебряные медали.

Team New Zealand завершила один из самых необычных этапов Кубка Америки, борьба за который ведётся начиная с 1851 года. В этот раз не было обычных толп зрителей на берегу, следящих за соревнованиями. Строгие ограничения, введённые из-за пандемии коронавируса, удерживали местных жителей по домам. Иностранцы же и вовсе не могли приехать в страну. График гонок также пришлось несколько раз изменять, чтобы учесть строгие и изменяющиеся правила изоляции, которые иногда приводили к задержкам в соревнованиях.

Также в этом году в Кубке Америки участвовал новый класс лодок – 75-футовые однокорпусные суда, способные буквально летать над водой, развивая скорость до 60 миль в час. И никто не смог управлять этим полётом лучше, чем Team New Zealand.

В течение первых шести гонок финала всё было очень просто – выиграл старт, выиграл  гонку. В каждой из этих гонок команда, которая побеждала на старте, также первой доходила до финиша. Эти соревнования без драматизма демонстрировали мастерство команд и великолепие их яхт, но были при этом откровенно скучными. Но всё изменилось в понедельник, когда Team New Zealand сумела нарушить установившуюся «традицию» и вырваться вперёд, воспользовавшись усилением ветра. День закончился счётом 5-3.

Соревнования во вторник пришлось отложить из-за слабого ветра. Но это только отсрочило то, что было и так очевидно – победу новозеландской команды. Желанная цель была достигнута в среду.

По словам второго рулевого Luna Rossa Франческо Бруни, они проиграли не потому, что допустили какие-либо ошибки. Просто Team New Zealand «была быстрее». По словам Бруни, у него нет никаких сожалений и это была «фантастическая гонка». И с этим утверждением нельзя не согласиться.

Премьер-министр Новой Зеландии Джасинда Ардерн заявила, что Team New Zealand заставила всю страну гордиться. И правительство окажет всю необходимую поддержку для того, чтобы команда снова смогла принять участие в борьбе за Кубок Америки в 2023 году.


Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *