Suez Canal - Depositphotos

Traffic was completely blocked when a large container ship ran aground and swerved across the canal.

The incident occurred north of the port of Suez on Tuesday at 07:40 local time (05:40 GMT). The Ever Given, built in 2018 and operated by Taiwanese transport company Evergreen Marine, sailing from China to the Netherlands, ran aground, stranded across a canal and blocked the path of dozens of other vessels. Movement along the canal proved impossible in both directions.

According to Evergreen Marine, the incident occurred as a result of a sudden change in weather conditions, when a sudden squall swept the ship off course, causing it to run aground. The rest completed the flow, turning the ship's hull across, as a result of which the channel was completely blocked. The situation is well illustrated by a picture taken from the board of another vessel - Maersk Denver, following Ever Given.

Suez Canal

Now excavators are working at the accident site, clearing the bow of the ship and tugboats trying to pull it off the shoal. And if the ship cannot be refloated with the onset of high tide, then it will have to be unloaded, which will take many hours. Indeed, on board Ever Given, which is 400 meters long and 59 meters wide, there are about 20,000 containers.

And all this time, movement along the channel will be impossible. And now, a considerable number of courts have accumulated on both sides of it (according to The Wall Street Journal, there are already more than a hundred of them).

The ship Ever Given in the Suez Canal

According to Dr. Sal Mercogliano, a maritime historian from the US state of North Carolina, in an interview with the BBC, such incidents are rare, but can have "enormous consequences for world trade." Needless to say, tens of thousands of ships pass through the canal every year. And a delay of several days could mean significant losses and supply problems.

The last such incident occurred in 2017, when the canal was blocked by a Japanese container ship. But then the Egyptian authorities managed to remove the ship from the shallows literally in a matter of hours with the help of tugboats.

Photo: depositphotos.com.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Cуэцкий канал - Depositphotos

Движение было полностью заблокировано, когда большой контейнеровоз сел на мель и его течением развернуло поперёк канала.

Инцидент произошёл к северу от порта Суэц во вторник в 07:40 по местному времени (05:40 по Гринвичу). Судно Ever Given, построенное в 2018 году и эксплуатируемое тайваньской транспортной компанией Evergreen Marine, шедшее из Китая в Нидерланды, село на мель, став поперёк канала и преградив путь десяткам других судов. Движение по каналу оказалось невозможным в обоих направлениях.

По заявлению Evergreen Marine инцидент произошёл в результате резкой смены погодных условий, когда внезапно налетевший шквал отклонил судно от курса, в результате чего оно налетело на мель. Остальное завершило течение, развернув корпус судна поперёк, в результате чего канал был полностью перекрыт. Ситуацию хорошо иллюстрирует снимок, сделанный с борта другого судна – Maersk Denver, шедшего следом за Ever Given.

Суэцкий канал

Сейчас на месте аварии работают экскаваторы, расчищающие нос судна и буксиры, пытающиеся стянуть его с мели. И если судно не удастся снять с мели с началом прилива, то придётся производить его разгрузку, что потребует много часов. Ведь на борту Ever Given, длина которого составляет 400 метров при ширине в 59 метров, находится порядка 20 000 контейнеров.

И всё это время движения по каналу будет невозможным. А уже сейчас с обоих его сторон скопилось немалое количество судов (согласно данным The Wall Street Journal, их уже более сотни).

Судно Ever Given в Суэцком канале

По словам доктора Сала Меркольяно, морского историка из американского штата Северная Каролина, которые он произнёс в интервью BBC, подобные инциденты случаются редко, но могут иметь «огромные последствия для мировой торговли». Что и говорить, ежегодно через канал проходят десятки тысяч судов. И задержка в несколько дней может означать значительные убытки и проблемы с поставками.

Последний подобный инцидент произошёл в 2017 году, когда канал был заблокирован японским контейнеровозом. Но тогда египетским властям удалось снять судно с мели буквально за считанные часы при помощи буксиров.

Фотография: depositphotos.com.


Рубрика: Места; метки: .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *