Swedish engineers tested a 3D printed boat

Researchers from RISE University of Sustainable Development in Sweden have tested a unique motor boat, created using a 3D printer based on multi-axis robotic arms.  

After the tests, RISE employee Jan Johansson noted that, despite the fact that when creating the boat, the engineers managed to reduce the percentage of waste to 4%, at the moment the buoyancy of the boat does not meet the required parameters. The specific gravity of the hull made of composite fiberglass is quite large and does not meet one of the key requirements for commercial products of this type - unsinkability, provided that the internal space is filled with water. To bring a 3D boat to market, buoyancy needs to be improved. According to Johansson, this problem is quite solvable.

Swedish engineers tested a 3D printed boat

It should be noted that the prototype boat was manufactured as part of the DiLAM program, the main focus of which is to study the possibility of creating large-sized objects using additive technologies based on ABB industrial robotic arms.  

The authors of the project were RISE researchers who worked in partnership with experts from the company Cipax from Norway. Financial support was provided by the Swedish Innovation Systems Authority (Vinnova), the energy agency and the Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development.    


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Шведские инженеры провели испытание 3D-печатного катера

Исследователи университета устойчивого развития Швеции RISE провели испытание уникального моторного катера, созданного посредством 3D-принтера на базе многоосевых роботов-манипуляторов.  

После испытаний сотрудник RISE Ян Йоханссон отметил, что, несмотря на то, что при создании катера инженерам удалось добиться уменьшения процента отходов до 4%, на данный момент плавучесть лодки не отвечает требуемым параметрам. Удельная масса корпуса, изготовленного из композитного стекловолокна, достаточно большая, и не соответствует одному из ключевых требований для коммерческих продуктов подобного вида — непотопляемости при условии наполнения внутреннего пространства водой. Чтобы вывести 3D-катер на рынок, необходимо улучшить плавучесть. По словам Йоханссона, данная проблема вполне решаемая.

Шведские инженеры провели испытание 3D-печатного катера

Отметим, что опытная лодка изготовлена в рамках программы DiLAM, главным направлением которой является изучение возможности создания крупногабаритных объектов при помощи аддитивных технологий на базе промышленных роботов-манипуляторов ABB.  

Авторами проекта стали исследователи RISE, которые работали в партнерстве с экспертами компании Cipax из Норвегии. Финансовую поддержку оказали Шведское управление инновационных систем (Vinnova), энергоагентство и исследовательский совет Швеции по устойчивому развитию.    


Рубрика: Яхты; метки: .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *