The Russian traveler was going to cross the Pacific Ocean alone on a catamaran

The famous Russian traveler Fedor Konyukhov plans to make a solo passage across the Pacific Ocean from Chile to Australia on the NOVA electric catamaran.

Russian researcher, academician and traveler Fedor Konyukhov plans to be the first in the world to make a solo passage across the Pacific Ocean on the NOVA electric catamaran, which operates on domestic solar panels.

This information was provided by the press service of the researcher. It is noted that the start of the journey, which will last about 100 days, is scheduled for December this year from the Chilean seaport of Valparaiso. Konyukhov intends to finish his Pacific crossing in the port of Brisbane in Australia.

The length of the sea route from Chile to the coast of Australia is about 9 thousand nautical miles (16.6 thousand km).

At a meeting with journalists, Fedor Konyukhov noted that “I am not sure that his record will last for a long time, but he must be the first. The academician emphasized that he was not afraid of the loneliness that he would have to face during the transition, because "there are a lot of fish in the ocean, large squids, albatrosses."

The Russian traveler was going to cross the Pacific Ocean alone on a catamaran
Photo: Oscar Konyukhov

The 11-meter NOVA electric catamaran, on which the Russian will travel, is the development of English designer Phil Morrison. It is made of carbon fiber, equipped with Russian-made solar panels, with a total area of 66 sq. m, and is able to withstand a storm of forces of 8 points.

The NOVA catamaran is the first Russian ocean-going vessel capable of operating in unmanned mode. The autonomous navigation time is about 6 months, while the cruising range is not limited. The boat is equipped with modern technologies that allow video filming, ocean monitoring, and water sampling without human intervention.   

With his "Pacific crossing", the famous researcher wants to draw attention to the problems of ecology, energy saving, environmental protection and the development of advanced technologies. During the trip, Konyukhov will keep a video diary and carry out eco-monitoring of the aquatic environment. After the end of the transition, the Russian academician will transfer all the collected materials for review to the Institute of Oceanology. P.P. Shirshov RAS.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Российский путешественник собрался в одиночку пересечь Тихий океан на катамаране

Известный российский путешественник Федор Конюхов планирует совершить одиночный переход через Тихий океан от Чили до Австралии на электрокатамаране NOVA.

Российский исследователь, академик и путешественник Федор Конюхов планирует первым в мире совершить одиночный переход через Тихий океан на электрокатамаране NOVA, функционирующем на солнечных панелях отечественного производства.

Такую информацию предоставили в пресс-службе исследователя. Отмечается, что начало путешествия, продолжительность которого составит около 100 дней, запланировано на декабрь текущего года с чилийского морского порта Вальпараисо. Закончить свой тихоокеанский переход Конюхов намерен в порту Брисбен в Австралии.

Протяженность морского пути от Чили к берегам Австралии составляет около 9 тыс. морских миль (16,6 тыс. км).

На встрече с журналистами Федор Конюхов отметил, что «не уверен в том, что его рекорд продержится долгое время, однако он обязательно должен быть первым. Академик подчеркнул, что не боится одиночества, с которым ему придется столкнуться во время перехода, ведь «в океане есть много рыбы, большие кальмары, альбатросы».

Российский путешественник собрался в одиночку пересечь Тихий океан на катамаране
Фото: Оскар Конюхов

Электрический 11-метровый катамаран NOVA, на котором россиянин отправится в путешествие, является разработкой английского дизайнера Фила Моррисона. Он сделан из углепластика, оснащен солнечными панелями российского производства, общей площадью 66 кв. м, и способен выдерживать шторм силов 8 баллов.

Катамаран NOVA — первое российское судно океанского типа, которое способно функционировать в беспилотном режиме. Время автономного плавания составляет около 6 месяцев, при этом дальность хода — не ограничена. Лодка оснащена современными технологиями, которые позволяют осуществлять видеосъемку, вести мониторинг океана, делать забор проб воды без участия человека.   

Своим «тихоокеанским переходом» знаменитый исследователь хочет привлечь внимание к проблемам экологии, энергосбережения, защиты окружающей среды и развития передовых технологий. В ходе путешествия Конюхов будет вести видеодневник и осуществлять эко-мониторинг водной среды. После окончания перехода все собранные материалы российский академик передаст для ознакомления в Институт океанологии им. П.П. Ширшова РАН.


Рубрика: Места; метки: , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *