Rolex Giraglia 2021 - the famous regatta returns after quarantine

One of the most famous yachting events sponsored by Rolex returns after a hiatus in 2020.

The history of this, without exaggeration, legendary event began back in 1953, for decades it has been held annually, not counting last year with its coronavirus pandemic. This year the organizers from Yacht Club Italiano (YCI) have worked hard on safety issues for both participants and ordinary observers.

Rolex Giraglia 2021 - the famous regatta returns after quarantine

The Rolex Giraglia is one of the most famous yachting competitions in the Mediterranean. This year's 68th regatta kicks off on June 16th in San Remo, from where the participants will set off for the coastal races in Saint Tropez. After that, the competition on the high seas begins, during which the athletes will cover a distance of 241 nautical miles. Winners this year will be honored in Genoa (in 2019 the port of Monaco was the finishing point). 

Rolex Giraglia 2021 - the famous regatta returns after quarantine

The very first Giraglia Cup, held in 1953, was attended by only 20 vessels. Then the number of participants began to grow rapidly. Today, hundreds of yachts of different classes from more than 20 countries participate in the race. And we can safely say that in the future, interest in a unique competition will only increase.

Rolex Giraglia 2021 - the famous regatta returns after quarantine

1977 was a landmark year for the Giraglia Cup - an important sponsor appeared in the person of the famous Rolex company, thanks to which, in 2018, the regatta received the modern name Rolex Giraglia.

The regatta requires teams to give their best. First, a long and difficult preparation, even just getting to the start line requires a lot of effort. The competition itself is a whole chain of tactical and navigational tasks, and it is more difficult to make the right decisions due to the fact that all rivals are in front of each other.

Rolex Giraglia 2021 - the famous regatta returns after quarantine

It takes about two days for most crews to cover the 241 nautical mile route. However, the fastest participants can show much more interesting results. So, the absolute record is the time of 14 hours 56 minutes and 16 seconds. It was installed in 2012 by the 30m maxi yacht Esimit Europa 2.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Rolex Giraglia 2021 – знаменитая регата возвращается после карантина

Одно из самых известных мероприятий в мире яхтинга, спонсируемое компанией Rolex, возвращается после перерыва в 2020 году.

История этого, говоря без преувеличения, легендарного мероприятия началась ещё в 1953 году, десятилетиями оно проходило ежегодно, не считая прошлого года с его пандемией коронавируса. В этом году организаторы из Yacht Club Italiano (YCI) много поработали над вопросами безопасности, как для участников, так и для простых наблюдателей.

Rolex Giraglia 2021 – знаменитая регата возвращается после карантина

Rolex Giraglia – это одно из самых знаменитых яхтенных соревнований, проводимых в Средиземном море. В этом году 68-я по счету регата стартует 16-го июня в Сан-Ремо, откуда участники отправятся для участия в прибрежных гонках в Сен-Тропе. После этого начинается соревнование в открытом море, во время которого спортсмены преодолеют расстояние в 241 морскую милю. Победителей в этом году будут чествовать в Генуе (в 2019 году финишной точкой был порт Монако). 

Rolex Giraglia 2021 – знаменитая регата возвращается после карантина

В самом первом соревновании Giraglia Cup, проходившем в 1953 году, приняли участие всего 20 судов. Затем число участников начало стремительно расти. Сегодня в гонке участвуют сотни яхт разных классов из более чем 20 стран. И можно смело утверждать, что в будущем интерес к уникальному состязанию будет только увеличиваться.

Rolex Giraglia 2021 – знаменитая регата возвращается после карантина

1977 год стал знаковым для Giraglia Cup – появился важный спонсор в лице знаменитой компании Rolex, благодаря чему впоследствии в 2018 году регата получила современное название Rolex Giraglia.

Регата требует от команд выкладываться по полной. Сначала – длительная и непростая подготовка, даже просто выход на линию старта требует немалых усилий. Само же соревнование являет собой целую цепь тактических и навигационных задач, причём принимать правильные решения сложнее из-за того, что все соперники находятся на виду друг у друга.

Rolex Giraglia 2021 – знаменитая регата возвращается после карантина

На преодоление маршрута в 241 морскую милю у большинства экипажей уходит порядка двух суток. Однако наиболее быстрые участники могут показать куда более интересные результаты. Так, абсолютным рекордом является время в 14 часов 56 минут и 16 секунд. Он был установлен в 2012 году 30-метровой макси-яхтой Esimit Europa 2.


Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.