The President of IMOCA summed up the first results of the Vendée Globe circumnavigation of the world

A week before the end of the world's only single yacht regatta Vendée Globe, which is expected on January 27, the IMOCA class summed up the first results of the race, and also announced plans for the next four years.

According to the head of IMOCA Antoine Mermaux, the ninth Vendée Globe regatta turned out to be extremely interesting and unpredictable. Even today, just a week before the finish line, it is difficult to predict who will be the winner. Eight yachts can reach the finish line first. While four years ago, the potential winner was determined almost in the early stages of the race.   

The President of IMOCA summed up the first results of the Vendée Globe circumnavigation of the world

Mermo noted that in the future the company plans to limit the size of foils to control the "volatility" of yachts. There is a specific size requirement for the foil, which balances the throttle response provided by the foils to the boat and the lift to lift the hull out of the water. At the same time, the dimensions of the foils will not be standardized, since a single ideal concept has not yet been developed. However, the company is actively working in this direction.

When asked about IMOCA's rudder support structures to make the yachts fully flyable, Anutan Mermaux replied that "it might be possible in the future". To date, there is still a lot of work to be done for semi-flying IMOCAs. In general, the boats pass the round-the-world regatta, but the results of sailing in the Indian Ocean are disappointing. That is why the company will continue to develop the class and plans to make it more reliable before moving to the next level. The head of IMOCA stressed that this new level will not be introduced until the next Vendée Globe in 2024.

Mermo noted that, despite the pandemic, the prospects for IMOCA are good. The company is targeting 20 boats at the Transat Jacques Vabre launch in 2021, there are also three brand new designs and three design sketches. New IMOCA boats will definitely appear.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Президент IMOCA подвел первые итоги кругосветки Vendée Globe

За неделю до завершения единственной в мире регаты яхт-одиночек Vendée Globe, которое ожидается 27 января, в классе IMOCA подвели первые итоги гонки, а также сообщили о планах на ближайшие четыре года.

Как сообщает глава IMOCA Антуан Мермо, девятая регата Vendée Globe оказалась чрезвычайно интересной и непредсказуемой. Даже сегодня, всего за неделю до финиша, сложно предугадать, кто станет ее победителем. Первыми на финиш могут прийти восемь яхт. В то время как четыре года назад, потенциальный победитель определился практически на первых этапах гонки.   

Президент IMOCA подвел первые итоги кругосветки Vendée Globe

Мермо отметил, что в будущем компания планирует ограничить размеры фойлов для контроля «летучести» яхт. Существует определенное требование к размеру фойла, который дает равновесие между приемистостью, обеспечиваемой лодке фойлами, и подъемной силой для вынесения корпуса из воды. При этом, габариты фойлов не будут стандартизироваться, поскольку еще не разработан единый идеальный концепт. Однако компания активно работает в этом направлении.

На вопрос об установке на IMOCA несущих конструкций на рулевые перья с целью сделать яхты полностью летающими, Анутан Мермо ответил, что «это, возможно, удастся реализовать в будущем». На сегодняшний день еще есть много работы, которую необходимо выполнить для полулетающих IMOCA. В целом, лодки проходят кругосветную регату, однако результаты плавания в Индийском океане разочаровывают. Именно поэтому компания продолжит развивать класс и планирует сделать его более надежным перед тем, как перейти на новый уровень. Глава IMOCA  подчеркнул, что этот новый уровень не будет представлен до следующей регаты Vendée Globe в 2024 году.

Мермо отметил, что, несмотря на пандемию, перспективы IMOCA хорошие. Компания нацелилась на 20 лодок на старте Transat Jacques Vabre в 2021, есть также три совершенно новых проекта и три конструктивных эскиза. Новые лодки IMOCA точно будут появляться.


Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *