Sailing ships off the coast of Spain and Portugal are attacked by killer whales

Scientists are seriously concerned about the unpredictable behavior of killer whales, which from the Strait of Gibraltar to the coast of Galicia attack sailing ships, damaging the engine and injuring people.

The reasons for this aggressive behavior are still unknown. It is noted that in recent months, sailors have sent an SOS signal several times after unpleasant encounters with angry marine mammals. Two yachts lost part of their rudder, and at least one person was injured as a result of a killer whale attack. Serious damage to the technical part was received by several more ships.

The last case occurred off the northern coast of the Spanish Kingdom. The sailing ship was bound for Britain when a mammal crashed into its stern more than a dozen times. As a result of such a "collision", control of the yacht was lost and she was forced to be sent to the port to assess the damage.

The yacht of Victoria Morris was badly damaged, which was attacked nine times by killer whales. For several hours, marine life hit the ship's hull, eventually turned it 180 degrees, disabled the engine and broke the rudder.

Similar attacks are observed regularly along the entire coast of Spain and Portugal. At the same time, it was not possible to establish whether there is one flock of killer whales or there may be several.         


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Парусные судна у берегов Испании и Португалии атакуют касатки

Ученые всерьез обеспокоены непредсказуемым поведением касаток, которые от Гибралтарского пролива до берегов Галисии нападают на парусные судна, повреждая двигателя и раня людей.

Причины такого агрессивного поведения пока неизвестны. Отмечается, что в последние месяцы моряки несколько раз отсылали сигнал SOS после неприятных встреч с разъяренными морскими млекопитающими. Две яхты лишились части руля, минимум один человек получил травмы в результате нападения касатки. Серьезные повреждения технической части были получены еще несколькими суднами.

Последний случай произошел у северных берегов Испанского Королевства. Парусное судно направлялось в Британию, когда в его корму более десятка раз врезалось млекопитающее. В результате такого «столкновения» управление яхтой было потеряно и ее вынуждено отправили в порт для оценивания нанесенного ущерба.

Изрядно пострадала яхта Виктории Моррис, которая девять раз подвергалась атаке касаток. Морские обитатели в течении нескольких часов ударялись в корпус судна, в итоге развернули его на 180 градусов, вывели из строя двигатель и сломали руль.

Подобные нападения наблюдаются регулярно вдоль всего побережья Испании и Португалии. При этом не удалось установить, действует ли одна стая касаток или их может быть несколько.         

Рубрика: Места; метки: , , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *