Kayak - REI

After the end of the quarantine, consumers rushed to buy a variety of goods for outdoor activities.

Back in January of this year, the non-profit organization Outdoor Foundation published the sad statistics, according to which less than 20% Americans had a rest in the fresh air at least once a week. This is immediately a billion people less than it was 10 years ago. At the same time, more than half of the population is never in nature at all.

Representatives of the organization then said that most likely the number of campers in nature will continue to decline. And the main reasons for this are work, new technologies and the increasing complexity of going out into the countryside. In other words, people began to work more, while spending more time on game consoles and tablets, while leaving the centers of strongly sprawling cities became much more difficult.

Naturally, with a decrease in interest in spending time in nature, a decline in sales of related products began, such as tents and accessories for active games. However, the coronavirus pandemic has changed everything. And today, retailers are noticing a sharp increase in interest in such products.

REI tent

At first, the growth of sales was promoted by a banal panic. Not knowing what to expect in the future, consumers rushed to buy all kinds of water filters, flashlights, fishing tackle, etc. Bicycles followed, followed by inflatable pools, hammocks and trampolines. People, forced to constantly be in their yards, began to look for ways to have a little fun and diversify their pastime.

As a result, shops selling goods for outdoor activities faced an unexpected problem for them - a shortage of literally everything. Kayaks, surfboards, equipment for hiking and mountaineering disappeared from the sale, and there were shortages of sleeping bags and camping furniture. The sellers turned out to be completely unprepared for such a turn of affairs and they had to urgently solve problems with supplies, optimize their chains.

According to data from some sellers, order volumes jumped sharply in the spring, followed by a short-term decline, after which they again increased sharply by early August. In some cases, there was a five-fold increase in sales compared to the same period last year. Many stores even had to increase staff in order to be able to serve everyone who wants to make a purchase.

It is highly doubtful that all the people who bought camping equipment rushed to nature. It is much more likely that they decided to equip campsites in their yards. It is also possible that we are seeing the same effect as in the case of toilet paper - many people shop, simply succumbing to the general mood (and most likely just panic). That is, many succumbed to the idea of buying tents and awnings only because they saw their neighbors buying them up en masse. And it is not yet clear whether sales will continue in the near future, when summer is over, whether winter equipment will also sell well. There are also concerns that due to the nature of the supply of goods for active pastime, interruptions in their supply may also be observed in 2021.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Каяк - REI

После окончания карантина потребители кинулись скупать разнообразные товары для активного отдыха.

Ещё в январе текущего года некоммерческая организация Outdoor Foundation опубликовала печальную статистику, согласно которой менее 20% американцев отдыхали на свежем воздухе хотя бы раз в неделю. Это сразу на миллиард человек меньше, чем было 10 лет назад. При этом более половины населения вообще никогда не бывает на природе.

Представители организации тогда заявили, что вероятнее всего количество отдыхающих на природе будет и далее снижаться. И основные причины этого – работа, новые технологии и повышение сложности выезда на природу. Иными словами, работать люди стали больше, тратя при этом больше времени на игровые консоли и планшеты, в то время как выехать из центров сильно разросшихся городов стало куда сложнее.

Естественно, что со снижением интереса к времяпровождению на природе начался спад продаж сопутствующих товаров, вроде палаток и аксессуаров для активных игр. Однако пандемия коронавируса всё изменила. И сегодня ритейлеры отмечают резкое повышение интереса к подобной продукции.

Палатка REI

Вначале росту продаж способствовала банальная паника. Не зная чего им ждать в будущем, потребители кинулись скупать всевозможные фильтры для воды, фонарики, рыболовные снасти и т.п. Затем последовали велосипеды, а после – надувные бассейны, гамаки и батуты. Люди, вынужденные постоянно находиться на своих дворах, начали искать способы хоть немного развлечься и разнообразить времяпровождение.

В результате магазины, торгующие товарами для активного отдыха, столкнулись с неожиданной для них проблемой – нехваткой буквально всего. Из продажи исчезли каяки, доски для сёрфинга, снаряжение для туризма и альпинизма, начались перебои со спальными мешками и мебелью для кемпинга. Продавцы оказались совершенно не готовы к подобному обороту дел и им пришлось срочно решать проблемы с поставками, оптимизировать их цепочки.

Согласно данным от некоторых продавцов, объёмы заказов резко подскочили весной, затем последовал кратковременный спад, после чего они снова резко увеличились к началу августа. В некоторых случаях был отмечен пятикратный рост продаж, по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. Многим магазинам даже пришлось увеличивать штат, чтобы иметь возможность обслужить всех желающих совершить покупку.

Крайне сомнительно, что все люди, купившие снаряжение для кемпинга, ринулись на природу. Куда более вероятно, что они решили оборудовать кемпинги на своих дворах. Возможно также, что мы наблюдаем тот же эффект, что и в случае с туалетной бумагой – многие совершаю покупки, просто поддавшись общему настроению (а скорее всего, просто панике). То есть многие поддались идее купить палатки и тенты только потому, что увидели как их массово скупают соседи.И пока непонятно сохранятся ли продажи и в ближайшем будущем, когда лето закончится, будет ли столь же хорошо продаваться и зимнее снаряжение. Также высказываются опасения, что из-за особенностей поставок товаров для активного времяпровождения, перебои с их поставками могут наблюдаться и в 2021 году.

Рубрика: Стиль; метки: , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *