In an instant, a normal day for 24-year-old Australian diver Cody Love turned upside down, and suddenly a leisurely dive into the water became a survival test for him.

On April 15, Cody Love was at anchor on the Great Barrier Reef off the coast of Queensland and planned to go diving. However, due to the strong current, the anchor rope got tangled in the propeller, as a result of which the boat capsized and the diver ended up in the water. In the place where the boat capsized, the Australian saw six huge four-meter tiger sharks.  

“It all happened in a matter of seconds and took me by surprise. By this point, I still had diving equipment,” says the diver. For about ten minutes, the man tried to pull out the things required for rescue from the boat, in particular, signal rockets.

Cody was able to find and launch two rockets, but neither was able to attract the attention of the boats that were floating on the horizon. He then used an orange tarpaulin to cover the prow of the boat, thus attracting nearby planes.

Luckily, Cody Love is an experienced PADI Certified Rescue Diver with over 5,000 dives. He admits that he feels at home in the water. “Nothing in particular about the ocean scares me, as I have spent a lot of time in and underwater,” he said. The man even admitted that his own safety was not his highest priority, in fact, he was more worried about losing or damaging the boat.

After another hour and a half, Love saw a red helicopter flying in his direction, and decided that this was a hope for salvation. The helicopter got closer and closer, and then turned and headed in the opposite direction.

After another half hour, Cody managed to turn on the emergency beacon and send out distress calls. Soon after the diver flew helicopter. Rescuers helped the Australian board, where he underwent a medical examination and gave him water to drink.

Love noted that he learned from what happened an important lesson and realized how sometimes "it's dangerous to dive alone."

Photo: depositphotos.com.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

В одно мгновение обычный день для 24-летнего австралийского дайвера Коди Лава перевернулся с ног на голову, и внезапно неторопливое погружение в воду стало для него испытанием на выживание.

15 апреля Коди Лав стоял на якоре, на Большом Барьерном рифе на побережье Квинсленда и планировал заняться дайвингом. Однако из-за сильного течения якорная веревка запуталась в пропеллере, вследствие чего катер перевернулся и дайвер оказался в воде. В том месте, где лодка перевернулась, австралиец увидел шесть огромных четырехметровых тигровых акул.  

«Все произошло в считанные секунды и застало меня врасплох. К этому моменту у меня все еще было водолазное снаряжение», — рассказывает дайвер. Около десяти минут мужчина пытался вытянуть из катера требуемые для спасения вещи, в частности, сигнальные ракеты.

Коди смог найти и запустить две ракеты, но ни одной из них не удалось привлечь внимание лодок, которые плавали на горизонте. Затем он использовал оранжевый брезент, чтобы прикрыть нос лодки, и тем самым, привлечь ближайшие самолеты.

К счастью, Коди Лав — опытный сертифицированный дайвер-спасатель PADI, совершивший более 5000 погружений. Он признается, что чувствует себя в воде как дома. «Ничего особенного в океане меня не пугает, так как я провел много времени в воде и под водой», — сказал он. Мужчина даже признался, что собственная безопасность не была его высшим приоритетом, на самом деле он больше беспокоился о потере или повреждении лодки.

Спустя еще полтора часа Лав увидел красный вертолет, летевший в его направлении, и, решил, что это надежда на спасение. Вертолет приближался все ближе и ближе, а затем повернул и направился в противоположном направлении.

По прошествии еще получаса Коди удалось включить аварийный радиомаяк и подать сигналы бедствия. Вскоре за дайвером прилетел вертолет. Спасатели помогли австралийцу подняться на борт, где ему провели медосмотр и напоили водой.

Лав отметил, что извлек из случившегося важный урок и понял, как иногда «опасно заниматься дайвингом в одиночку».

Фотография: depositphotos.com.


Рубрика: Места; метки: , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *