Vendée Globe - PRB yacht

One of the yachts participating in the regatta sank, but the yachtsman himself was rescued by another participant in the competition.

Within two weeks of the start of the ninth Vendée Globe regattas the two leading yachts were seriously damaged and had to stop the race. First, Jeremy Bayou's Charal lost its mast just two days after launch and had to return 600 miles back to its starting point in Les Sables-d'Olonne, France. Later yacht Hugo Boss, driven by Alex Thompson, suffered rudder damage and is now en route to Cape Town, South Africa.

Kevin Escoffier, PRB
Kevin Escoffier, PRB yacht

But yesterday there was a much more dramatic event with the PRB yacht of French racer Kevin Escoffier, a veteran of several round the world sailing races. She split in half while climbing the next wave and sank in a matter of seconds (according to Escoffier himself, it took no more than 5 seconds). The yachtsman himself barely had time to go to the life raft and radio that he was leaving the ship and that "this is not a joke."

Although the raft's emergency beacon indicated its approximate location, the rescue operation in stormy conditions was an extremely difficult undertaking. As a result, Escoffier was picked up by another Frenchman - Jean Le Cam on the yacht Yes We Cam!, who deviated from his route in order to save his compatriot. Together with him, two more yachts that were nearby participated in the search operation.

Surprisingly, Le Cam managed to find a tiny raft in the middle of a raging sea after only two hours. But he could not immediately pick up the one in distress due to high waves and strong winds. For some time the raft was again lost sight of and it took several more hours for new searches. As a result, everything ended well. Escoffier's first words, after boarding the YesWe Cam!, were an apology for interfering with the race.

Now the organizers of the regatta are considering how to adjust the time for the yachts that took part in the rescue operation. Escoffier himself will soon be picked up by a nearby French ship and Le Cam will be able to continue the competition.

Interestingly, Le Cam itself crashed during the 2008-2009 Vendée Globe 12 years ago. His yacht capsized and was carried 200 miles to Cape Horn. The yachtsman remained on board. This was Le Cam's second participation in the regatta. During the 2004-2005 Vendée Globe, he finished second, only a few hours behind the winner.

Vendée Globe is deservedly considered the most extreme round-the-world race. Athletes sleep two or three hours a day, while cruising at the highest possible speeds through extremely difficult waters to navigate. This regatta is expected to end in early February. Of the 33 yachts that started on November 8, 30 remain.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Vendée Globe - яхта PRB

Одна из участвующих в регате яхт затонула, но сам яхтсмен был спасён другим участником соревнования.

В течение двух недель после начала девятой по счёту регаты Vendée Globe две занимавшие лидерские позиции яхты получили серьёзные повреждения и вынуждены были прекратить гонку. Сначала судно Жереми Бейу Charal потеряло мачту всего через два дня после старта и вынуждено было вернутся на 600 миль назад к исходной точке в Ле-Сабль-д’Олон, Франция. Позднее яхта Hugo Boss, управляемая Алексом Томпсоном, получила повреждения руля и сейчас находится на пути к Кейптауну, Южная Африка.

Кевин Эскофье, PRB
Кевин Эскофье, яхта PRB

Но вчера произошло куда более драматичное событие с яхтой PRB французского гонщика Кевина Эскофье, ветерана нескольких кругосветных парусных гонок. Она раскололась пополам при восхождении на очередную волну и затонула в считанные секунды (по заявлению самого Эскофье, на это ушло не более 5 секунд). Сам яхтсмен едва успел перейти на спасательный плот и радировать, что покидает судно и что «это не шутка».

Хотя аварийный маяк плота указывал его приблизительное местоположение, спасательная операция в штормовых условиях была крайне сложным мероприятием. В результате Эскофье был подобран другим французом – Жаном Ле Камом на яхте Yes We Cam!, который отклонился от своего маршрута с целью спасти соотечественника. Вместе с ним в поисковой операции участвовали ещё две находившихся поблизости яхты.

Удивительным образом Ле Кам сумел отыскать крошечный плот посреди бушующего моря уже через два часа. Но он не смог сразу же подобрать терпящего бедствие из-за высоких волн и сильного ветра. На какое-то время плот был снова потерян из виду и потребовалось ещё несколько часов на новые поиски. В результате всё закончилось хорошо. Первыми словами Эскофье, после того, как он поднялся на борт YesWe Cam!, были извинения, что он помешал участию в гонке.

Сейчас организаторы регаты размышляют, как скорректировать время для яхт, которые приняли участие в спасательной операции. Самого же Эскофье в ближайшее время заберёт находящееся поблизости французское судно и Ле Кам сможет продолжить соревнование.

Интересно, что сам Ле Кам 12 лет назад потерпел крушения во время Vendée Globe 2008-2009 годов. Его яхта перевернулась и её отнесло на 200 миль к мысу Горн. Яхтсмен при этом оставался на борту. Это было второе по счёту участие Ле Кама в регате. Во время Vendée Globe 2004-2005 годов он занял второе место, отстав от победителя лишь на несколько часов.

Vendée Globe заслуженно считается самой экстремальной кругосветной гонкой. Спортсмены спят два или три часа в день, путешествуя при этом на максимально высоких скоростях по крайне непростым для навигации водам. Ожидается, что эта регата завершится в начале февраля. Из 33 яхт, стартовавших 8 ноября, осталось 30.


Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *