Curiosity or aggression: four killer whales attacked the boat and broke her steering wheel

The incident occurred on the coast of Cape Spartel, in the waters of the Strait of Gibraltar, when the boat Serena IV cruised between Europe and Africa.

The owner of the ship, Sergio Rodman, said that the crew was traveling from Italy and stopped in Gibraltar to continue their journey to the island of Lanzarote in the southwestern part of Spain in the Canary Islands.

Antonio Busse, 40, a German captain of the ship, said that at night the crew heard a strange noise and rushed to the deck. At first they thought that the ship had hit the container, but they quickly realized that killer whales were attacking the boat.

According to Busse, four large killer whales approached the boat. Travelers tried to drive away the animals, threw various objects at them, shouted, but to no avail. The killer whales ignored the noise, continued to attack the boat, and eventually broke the steering wheel.

As a desperate measure, one of the crew lit a flare to force the animals to leave. This strategy worked, and a group of aggressive killer whales finally left the ship alone. The Daily Mail published a video showing a pod of killer whales attacking the sailboat Serena IV.   

Buss noted that the situation was frightening: in his entire life, traveling the "seven seas", he had never seen anything like it. The captain noted that "killer whales are very smart and it's not uncommon to steal tuna from fishing boats when they're hungry, but this rudder failure situation is unprecedented."

Despite a partially broken rudder, the boat was able to anchor in the port of Tarifa in southern Spain.

According to biologist Alfredo Lopez, this group of killer whales, whose age could not be identified from the video due to poor video quality, may be juveniles, as they, unlike adults, are lazier, reckless and have more contact with people.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Любопытство или агрессия: четыре косатки напали на лодку и сломали ей руль

Инцидент произошел на побережье мыса Спартель, в водах Гибралтарского пролива, когда лодка Серена IV курсировала между Европой и Африкой.

Владелец судна Серхио Родман рассказал, что команда следовала из Италии и остановилась в Гибралтаре, чтобы далее продолжить путешествие на остров Лансароте в юго-западной части Испании на Канарских островах.

40-летний Антонио Буссе, немецкий капитан корабля, рассказал, что ночью члены экипажа услышали странный шум и бросились на палубу. Сначала думали, что судно ударилось о контейнер, однако быстро поняли, что лодку атакуют косатки.

По словам Буссе, к лодке подошли четыре крупные косатки. Путешественники пытались отогнать животных, бросали в них различные предметы, кричали, но безрезультатно. Косатки игнорировали шум, продолжали нападать на лодку и в конечном итоге сломали руль управления.

В качестве отчаянной меры один из членов экипажа зажег сигнальную ракету, чтобы заставить животных уйти. Такая стратегия сработала, и группа агрессивных косаток наконец-то оставила корабль в покое. Издательство Daily Mail опубликовало видео, на котором видно, как стая косаток нападает на парусник Serena IV.   

Бусс отметил, что ситуация была пугающей: за всю свою жизнь, путешествуя по «семи морям», он никогда не видел ничего подобного. Капитан отметил, что «косатки очень умны, и не редко крадут тунца с рыбацких лодок, когда голодные, но эта ситуация с поломкой руля является беспрецедентной».

Несмотря на частично сломанный руль, лодка смогла встать на якорь в порту Тарифа на юге Испании.

По словам биолога Альфредо Лопес, данная группа косаток, возраст которых не смогли идентифицировать по видео из-за плохого качества съемки,  могут быть молодыми особями, поскольку они, в отличие от взрослых, более ленивы, безрассудны и больше контактируют с людьми.


Рубрика: Места; метки: , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *