Boat made from recycled plastic bottles by Scotch & Soda

For the construction of the vessel, the famous Dutch brand has teamed up with the environmental organization Plastic Whale, which is fighting the dominance of plastic in world waters.

The presentation of the fishing boat, called The Free Spirit of Amsterdam ("Free spirit of Amsterdam"), was timed to coincide with World Environment Day, celebrated annually on June 5th. More than one thousand plastic bottles collected from the canals of Amsterdam went to its creation.

The boat is finished in the fashion brand's signature colors of brown, jet black and cloudy white. Her deck features 900 black bottle caps and plenty of brass logo buttons left over from unsold Scotch & Soda collections. Also, when creating The Free Spirit of Amsterdam, Platowood wood was used, treated in a special way and not afraid of moisture. This material is often used in the Netherlands as a replacement for plastic in house cladding and window frames.

Boat made from recycled plastic bottles by Scotch & Soda

The ship is 5.5 meters long, 2.2 meters wide and weighs about 1000 kg. It is equipped with an electric motor and can take on board up to 8 people. Starting June 12, anyone can rent The Free Spirit of Amsterdam for fishing or just a short trip. Rentals can be made on the official website of Scotch & Soda.

The capital of the Netherlands is famous for its canal system, with a total length of over 100 km. Plastic waste gets into them mainly due to active tourism and winds. And if no action is taken, then all this plastic is subsequently carried away to the North Sea, and then to the Atlantic.

The history of the Plastic Whale organization began in 2011 with the goodwill of one person. Marius Smith drew attention to how polluted the canals of his hometown could be and how much damage this could cause to the environment. Together with other volunteers, he began to fish out plastic bottles from the water. By the end of 2011, the organization already had 450 members.

Boat made from recycled plastic bottles by Scotch & Soda

Collected plastic waste is recycled and subsequently used to create a variety of items - from furniture to boats, which are then used to collect new plastic (the very first boat was shown to the public in 2015, during the HISWA Amsterdam Boat Show). To date, Plastic Whale has 13,000 members and continues to grow.

Scotch & Soda is far from the first company to take part in the Plastic Whale business. The organization caught the attention of the big business world back in 2013, when it received support from Starbucks. Subsequently, such eminent brands as Nike, Tommy Hilfiger and ING Bank collaborated with Plastic Whale.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Лодка из переработанных пластиковых бутылок от бренда Scotch & Soda

Для постройки судна известный нидерландский бренд объединился с экологической организацией Plastic Whale, борющейся с засильем пластика в мировых водах.

Презентацию рыболовной лодки, получившей название The Free Spirit of Amsterdam («Свободный дух Амстердама») приурочили ко Всемирному дню окружающей среды, отмечаемому ежегодно 5-го июня. На её создание пошла не одна тысяча пластиковых бутылок, собранных из каналов Амстердама.

Лодка исполнена в фирменных цветах бренда модной одежды – коричневом, угольно-чёрном и облачно-белом. Для её палубы использовано 900 чёрных крышек от бутылок и множество латунных пуговиц с логотипом, оставшихся от нераспроданных коллекций Scotch & Soda. Так же при создании The Free Spirit of Amsterdam использовалась древесина Platowood, обработанная особым образом и не боящаяся влаги. Данный материал нередко используется в Нидерландах как замена пластику при облицовке домов и при создании оконных рам.

Лодка из переработанных пластиковых бутылок от бренда Scotch & Soda

Судно имеет длину в 5,5 метра, при ширине в 2,2 метра и весит около 1000 кг. Оно оснащено электродвигателем и способно принять на борт до 8-ми человек. Начиная с 12-го июня любой желающий может арендовать The Free Spirit of Amsterdam для рыбалки или просто кратковременного путешествия. Аренду можно оформить на официальном сайте Scotch & Soda.

Столица Нидерландов славится своей системой каналов, общей протяжённостью более 100 км. Пластиковые отходы попадают в них в основном из-за активного туризма и ветров. И если не предпринимать никаких мер, то весь этот пластик впоследствии уносится в Северное море, а затем и в Атлантику.

История организации Plastic Whale началась в 2011 году с доброй воли одного человека. Мариус Смит обратил внимание на то, насколько загрязнёнными могут быть каналы его родного города и насколько серьёзный вред это может нанести окружающей среде. Вместе с другими добровольцами он начал вылавливать из воды пластиковые бутылки. К концу 2011 года организация насчитывала уже 450 человек.

Лодка из переработанных пластиковых бутылок от бренда Scotch & Soda

Собранные пластиковые отходы идут на переработку и применяются впоследствии для создания самых разных предметов – от мебели до лодок, которые затем используются для сбора нового пластика (самая первая лодка была продемонстрирована общественности в 2015 году, во время HISWA Amsterdam Boat Show). На сегодняшний день Plastic Whale имеет уже 13 000 членов и продолжает увеличиваться.

Scotch & Soda – это далеко не первая компания, принимающая участие в деятельности Plastic Whale. Организация заинтересовала мир большого бизнеса ещё в 2013 году, когда получила поддержку от Starbucks. Впоследствии с Plastic Whale сотрудничали такие именитые бренды, как Nike, Tommy Hilfiger и ING Bank.


Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.