Who will win the Trophée Jules Verne round-the-world regatta

If the weather conditions do not let us down, then in the coming weeks, an exciting battle between two maxi-trimarans for the famous Jules Verne Trophy will begin.

The teams of two trimarans at once - Maxi Edmond de Rothschild and Sodebo Ultim 3, are in full readiness starting from November 1 and are waiting at their bases for a signal from the meteorological service in order to independently start the fastest circumnavigation of the world and win one of the most prestigious sailing cups Trophee Jules Verne.

Who will win the Trophée Jules Verne round-the-world regatta

Since 2017, the Cup has been owned by the French yachtsman Francis Joyon and the crew of the trimaran IDEC SPORT, who circumnavigated the world in 40 days, 23 hours, 30 minutes and 30 seconds. Note that the trophy remains with the winner until a new world record is set.   

Who will win the Trophée Jules Verne round-the-world regatta

After the end of the regatta, Joyon declared that only a new, modern, newly built trimaran could beat his record. Both boats that will be racing this year fully meet these criteria. The construction of Maxi Edmond de Rothschild was completed at the end of 2017, and its closest competitor Sodebo Ultim 3 was completed last year.

According to observers close to the teams, favorable conditions have developed in the Atlantic today for the start of the regatta, and after a few more days they may improve. If this happens, the crews will be able to reach the Cape of Good Hope in 12-13 days.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Кто станет победителем кругосветной регаты Trophée Jules Verne

Если погодные условия не подведут, то уже в ближайшие недели начнется захватывающая борьба двух макси-тримаранов за знаменитый Трофей Жюля Верна.

Команды сразу двух тримаранов — Maxi Edmond de Rothschild и Sodebo Ultim 3, начиная с 1 ноября находятся в полной готовности и ожидают на своих базах сигнала метеорологической службы, чтобы независимо друг от друга начать самое быстрое кругосветное плавание и завоевать один из наиболее престижных кубков парусного спорта Trophée Jules Verne.

Кто станет победителем кругосветной регаты Trophée Jules Verne

С 2017 года Кубок принадлежит французскому яхтсмену Франсису Жуайону и экипажу тримарана IDEC SPORT, которые совершили кругосветное плавание за 40 дней, 23 часа, 30 минут и 30 секунд. Отметим, что трофей остается у победителя до тех пор, пока не будет установлен новый мировой рекорд.   

Кто станет победителем кругосветной регаты Trophée Jules Verne

После завершения регаты Жуайон заявил, что побить его рекорд способен только новый, современный, недавно построенный тримаран. Обе лодки, которые будут участвовать в гонках в текущем году, полностью подходят под эти критерии. Строительство Maxi Edmond de Rothschild было завершено в конце 2017 года, а его ближайшего конкурента Sodebo Ultim 3 — и вовсе в прошлом году.

По словам обозревателей, близких к командам, сегодня в Атлантике сложились благоприятные условия для начала регаты, и спустя еще несколько дней они могут улучшиться. Если это произойдет, что экипажи смогут достичь мыса Доброй Надежды за 12-13 дней.

Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *