Riva Aquariva

All visitors to the site of the famous shipbuilder Riva are greeted with a proud inscription "A new era of design" ("New era in design"). And this is not an exaggeration at all.

The company's history is based on the legend of how a young ship's carpenter, Pietro Riva, set about rebuilding a fishing fleet that had been badly damaged after a storm that hit Lake Iseo in northern Italy in 1842. Moreover, he was not just engaged in repairs, but put his whole soul into this business, gaining the respect and admiration of local residents. And after the restoration work was completed, Riva set about starting his own business and setting up the production of boats of his own design. Thus was born a company that was destined to become legendary in the end. It was in the small town of Sarnico, located on the shores of the aforementioned lake, where to this day the headquarters of Riva is located.

The products of the young manufacturer quickly became popular due to their thoughtful design and reliability. But the real success came to the company after the First World War, when it was decided to abandon transport ships and begin the production of small speed boats, which were still a novelty at that time, but had already come to the liking of wealthy consumers. By the early 1930s, Riva racing yachts had already won countless awards and set various records in national and international competitions. In the 50s, the brand became not only well-known, but very popular, many celebrities willingly purchased its products. Famous clients included the Shah of Iran, Brigitte Bardot, Sophia Loren, Peter Sellers and many others.

Riva Aquariva

By that time, the company was headed by Carlo Riva, a descendant of an enterprising carpenter. He understood the importance of design and devoted a lot of time to this issue, creating himself and actively collaborating with many famous designers of those years. And in November 1962, a legend was born - a small sports and pleasure boat (runabout) Aquarama, which immediately became a classic, a kind of symbol of Riva, a brand within a brand. Some journalists even dubbed this model the "Ferrari of the Boat World". This twin-engine creation with a folding roof was capable of speeds up to 50 knots (top version). The original Aquarama was produced until 1972, with a total of 281 units built. Other, somewhat revised versions followed.

Another historical milestone for the company is considered to be 1969, when it began to manufacture ships from fiberglass, instead of traditional wood. Riva's first two composite models were the Bahia Mar 20' and Sport Fisherman 25' cruisers. However, despite the victorious march of plastic, Riva continued to work with wood for some time. All the “descendants” of Aquarama were wooden, up to the Aquarama Special, the production of which ended in 1996.

In the late 60s, Carlo Riva sold the company to the American concern Whittaker in September 1969, although he remained as chairman and CEO. Then the shipyard changed owners several more times. In 1989, she moved to the British group Vicker and the Reeve family has had no connection with her since. Riva has been owned by the Italian shipbuilding company Ferretti Group since 1999.

However, all these ups and downs with the change of owners did not affect either the quality or the spirit of the famous brand. And a great example of the Riva's highest level is the boat designed in collaboration with renowned industrial designer Marc Newson and design company Officina Italiana Design. We are talking, of course, about Aquariva by Marc Newson, presented in 2010.

Riva Aquariva

Even a cursory glance at this ship is enough to understand that we have before us the creation of Riva, endowed with the spirit of Aquarama. But at the same time, Mark Newson managed to create something original, able to win the hearts of even very demanding consumers. However, not everyone will be able to get such a “toy”, because only 22 units of Aquariva by Marc Newson are planned to be released. But the limited series only added interest to the great new product.

It is interesting that an unusual material was used to create the boat - a phenolic composite created in the first half of the 20th century (it should be noted that Newson has repeatedly resorted to the use of this substance). It resembles a tree, but much more reliable than it. Also, instead of much more traditional stainless steel, the designer also used anodized aluminum rarely used in shipbuilding, the purpose of which is to make the vessel more stylish and modern.

The latest technology was used in the creation of a unique vessel, while much attention was paid to simplicity and functionality. The 10-meter boat with a caddy cabin, capable of accelerating to 41 knots, received a one-piece rounded windshield, once again emphasizing its swift forms and an unusually shaped transom. Customers were offered a variety of color options - from simple white to bright turquoise. There is enough space on board for 8 people.

But one should not think that Riva is only capable of making small sports boats great. For example, the 28m motor yacht Riva 90′ Argo, launched in 2017, is an example of a great vessel capable of sailing on the open sea and reaching a speed of 26 knots. Even more impressive is the 50m Riva 50′ Metri, with a top speed of 16 knots, built around the concept of “totally immersed in the sea and living in the open air”. All this is a worthy successor to the magnificent steel motor yachts of the Caravelle and Atlantic series, on which Carlo Riva worked in the 60s and 70s of the last century.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Riva Aquariva

Всех посетителей сайта знаменитого судостроителя Riva встречает горделивая надпись «A new era of design» («Новая эра в дизайне»). И это вовсе не преувеличение.

В основу истории компании положена легенда о том, как молодой корабельный плотник Пьетро Рива взялся за восстановление рыболовного флота, сильно пострадавшего после шторма, который случился на озере Изео на севере Италии в 1842 году. Причём он не просто занимался ремонтом, а вкладывал в это дело всю душу, снискав уважение и восхищение местных жителей. А после того, как восстановительные работы были закончены, Рива загорелся идеей начать собственное дело и наладить производство лодок собственной конструкции. Так родилась компания, которой в итоге суждено было стать легендарной. Дело было в маленьком городке Сарнико, расположенном на берегу вышеупомянутого озера, где и по сей день располагается штаб-квартира Riva.

Продукция молодого производителя быстра стала популярной, благодаря продуманности конструкций и надёжности. Но настоящий успех пришёл к компании уже после Первой мировой войны, когда решено было отказаться от транспортных судов и начать производство небольших скоростных катеров, которые тогда ещё были в новинку, но уже пришлись по нраву богатым потребителям. К началу 30-х годов гоночные яхты Riva уже завоёвывали бесчисленные награды и ставили разнообразные рекорды на национальных и международных соревнованиях. В 50-е же годы бренд стал уже не просто хорошо известным, но очень популярным, его продукцию охотно приобретали многие знаменитости. Среди известных клиентов были шах Ирана, Брижит Бардо, Софи Лорен, Питер Селлерс и многие другие.

Riva Aquariva

К тому времени компанию возглавлял Карло Рива, потомок предприимчивого плотника. Он понимал важность дизайна и уделял этому вопросу много времени, творил сам и активно сотрудничал со многими известными дизайнерами тех лет. А в ноябре 1962 года родилась легенда – небольшой спортивно-прогулочный катер (runabout) Aquarama, сразу же ставший классикой, своеобразным символом Riva, брендом внутри бренда. Некоторые журналисты даже окрестили эту модель «Ferrari мира катеров». Это двухмоторное творение со складной крышей способно было развивать скорость до 50 узлов (топовая версия). Оригинальная модель Aquarama выпускалась по 1972 год, всего была построена 281 единица. Затем последовали другие, несколько переработанные версии.

Ещё одной исторической вехой для компании принято считать 1969 год, когда она начала производить суда из стеклопластика, вместо традиционного дерева. Первыми двумя композитными моделями Riva были круизеры Bahia Mar 20′ и Sport Fisherman 25′. Впрочем, несмотря на победное шествие пластика, Riva ещё некоторое время продолжала работать с деревом. Деревянными были все «потомки» Aquarama, вплоть до Aquarama Special, производство которого завершилось в 1996 году.

В конце 60-х Карло Рива продал компанию американскому концерну Whittaker в сентябре 1969 года, хотя остался на посту председателя и генерального директора. Затем верфь ещё несколько раз меняла владельцев. В 1989 году она отошла к британской группе Vicker и семейство Рива с тех пор больше не имело к ней никакого отношения. Начиная с 1999 года Riva принадлежит итальянской судостроительной компании Ferretti Group.

Однако все эти перипетии со сменой владельцев никак не сказалось ни на качестве, ни на духе знаменитого бренда. И отличным примером высочайшего уровня Riva может служить катер, разработанный совместно со знаменитым промышленным дизайнером Марком Ньюсоном и дизайнерской компанией Officina Italiana Design. Речь идёт, конечно же об Aquariva by Marc Newson, представленном в 2010 году.

Riva Aquariva

Даже беглого взгляда на это судно достаточно для того, чтобы понять, перед нами творение Riva, наделённое духом Aquarama. Но одновременно с этим, Марку Ньюсону удалось создать нечто самобытное, способное покорять сердца даже очень требовательных потребителей. Впрочем, далеко не все смогут заполучить такую «игрушку», ведь всего планируется выпустить лишь 22 единицы Aquariva by Marc Newson. Но ограниченность серии только прибавила интереса к великолепной новинке.

Интересно, что при создании катера использовался необычный материал – фенольный композит, созданный ещё в первой половине 20-го века (нужно отметить, что Ньюсон уже неоднократно прибегал к использованию данного вещества). Он напоминает дерево, но гораздо надёжнее его. Также вместо куда более традиционной нержавеющей стали, дизайнер задействовал и редко используемый в судостроении анодированный алюминий, задача которого – сделать судно более стильным и современным.

При создании уникального судна использовались новейшие технологии, при этом много внимания уделялось простоте и функциональности. 10-метровый катер с кадди-кабиной, способный разгоняться до 41 узла, получил цельное закруглённое лобовое стекло, лишний раз подчёркивающее его стремительные формы и транец необычной формы. Покупателям были предложены различные цветовые варианты оформления – от простого белого до ярко-бирюзового. На борту достаточно места для 8 человек.

Но не следует думать, что Riva способна делать великолепными лишь небольшие спортивные катера. Так, 28-метровая моторная яхта Riva 90′ Argo, производство которой было налажено в 2017 году – это пример великолепного судна, способного выходить в открытое море и развивать скорость в 26 узлов. Ещё более эффектной выглядит 50-метровая яхта Riva 50′ Metri, с максимальной скоростью в 16 узлов, созданная по концепции «полного погружения в море и жизнь под открытым небом». Всё это – достойные преемники великолепных стальных моторных яхты серий Caravelle и Atlantic, над которыми Карло Рива работал в 60-х и 70-х годах прошлого века.


Рубрика: Яхты; метки: , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *