Silent Yachts electric catamarans now with kite sail

The recently introduced solar-powered Silent 60 catamaran has received an additional environmentally friendly kite propulsion system.

The products of the Austrian manufacturer Silent Yachts will be approved by any person who is not indifferent to environmental issues. These are seaworthy comfortable catamarans powered by solar panels. The last presented model is interesting in that it uses kite sail.

The Silent 60 is 18 meters long and is actually an enlarged and modified version of the 16 meter Silent 55. The increase in the size of the hull allowed not only to expand the interior, but also to install more solar panels. Energy is generated by 42 solar panels, which together provide a peak power of 17 kW and feed a battery with a capacity of 286 kW / h. For comparison, the Silent 55 has 30 panels and a 210 kWh battery.

Two electric motors with a power of 340 kW allow you to move at a cruising speed of 8 knots and a maximum of 20 knots. At the same time, solar energy alone can cover distances of up to 100 miles per day.

And in a special box in the bow, a useful tool is hidden that can increase the performance of the vessel, increasing its speed by an additional 5 knots. This is a kite sail with an area of 13 sq.m. It can be launched directly from the surface of the water by simply throwing it overboard and pumping it up with a special electric pump. At the same time, the kite can rise to a height of up to 120 meters. It is easy to manage, no special skills are required.

By the way, although the dimensions of the Silent 60 are larger than those of its predecessor, the draft of the vessel has decreased to 1 meter, which allows it to be used in shallow bays typical of the tropics. And because of the inverse bow, the length of the waterline increases.

Silent 60 is easy to operate, 2 people are enough for this. At the same time, there was enough space on board to accommodate from 3 to 5 cabins - the company offers ample opportunities for customization. At the same time, there is also a spacious saloon and a fly bridge, and the latter can be both open and closed.

Silent Yachts says it has already received 17 orders for the Silent 60 and 8 vessels are currently under construction. The company also plans to demonstrate the novelty at the Cannes Yachting Festival in September this year. As for the cost of Silent 60, it starts from 2.6 million US dollars.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Электрические катамараны Silent Yachts – теперь и с кайт-парусом

Недавно представленный катамаран Silent 60, работающий от солнечных батарей, получил дополнительный экологически чистый движитель в виде воздушного змея.

Продукцию австрийского производителя Silent Yachts одобрит любой неравнодушный к вопросам сбережения окружающей среды человек. Это мореходные комфортабельные катамараны, работающие от энергии солнечных батарей. Последняя же представленная модель интересна тем, что на ней для дополнительной тяги используется кайт-парус.

Silent 60 имеет длину в 18 метров и является, фактически, увеличенной и доработанной версией 16-метрового Silent 55. Повышение размеров корпуса позволило не только расширить внутренние помещения, но также установить большее количество солнечных батарей. Энергию вырабатывают 42 солнечных панели, которые в совокупности дают пиковую мощность 17 кВт и питают батарею ёмкостью 286 кВт/ч. Для сравнения, на Silent 55 установлены 30 панелей и батарея на 210 кВт/ч.

Два электродвигателя мощностью 340 кВт позволяют двигаться с крейсерской скоростью в 8 узлов и максимальной – в 20 узлов. При этом на одной только солнечной энергии можно покрывать расстояния до 100 миль в день.

А в специальном ящике в носовой части спрятан полезный инструмент, способный повысить производительность судна, увеличив его скорость на дополнительные 5 узлов. Это кайт-парус, площадь которого составляет 13 кв.м. Его можно запустить прямо с поверхности воды, просто выбросив за борт и накачав при помощи специального электрического насоса. При этом воздушный змей может подниматься на высоту до 120 метров. Управлять им несложно, никаких особых навыков получать не потребуется.

Кстати, хотя размеры Silent 60 больше, чем у предшественника, осадка судна уменьшилась до 1 метра, что позволяет использовать его в мелководных бухтах, типичных для зоны тропиков. А из-за инверсной носовой части повышается длина ватерлинии.

Silent 60 отличается простотой управления, для этого хватит 2 человек. При этом на борту нашлось достаточно места для размещения от 3 до 5 кают – компания предлагает широкие возможности для кастомизации. При этом имеется также просторные салон и флай-бридж, причём последний может быть как открытым, так и закрытым.

Silent Yachts сообщает, что уже получила 17 заказов на Silent 60 и 8 судов в настоящее время находятся в стадии строительства. Компания также планирует продемонстрировать новинку на Каннском яхтенном фестивале в сентябре этого года. Что же касается стоимости Silent 60, то она стартует от 2,6 миллиона долларов США.


Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.