Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip photo

The new yacht, as proposed by the British Prime Minister, could be named after the recently departed Prince Philip.

Boris Johnson has once again stirred up controversy among the British public - this time with his proposal to build a new royal yacht. The estimated cost of construction, according to the calculations of the Ministry of Defense of the country, is about 200 million pounds sterling or 278 million dollars. 

By building a yacht, Johnson proposes to honor the memory of the recently departed Prince Philip by naming the ship after him. Also, such a project, according to the Prime Minister, will "sell Britain to the world", improving the country's image in the eyes of the foreign public.

The cost of building a yacht caused outrage among many political and public figures who actively criticize the current state of the monarchy in the UK. Also significant controversy is the fact that the maintenance of a luxury yacht, if it is nevertheless built, taxpayers will have to spend significant amounts annually. 

Talk of a royal yacht has a long history. So from 1953 to 1997, the royal family traveled around the world on the Britannia yacht. Britannia cost about £11 million a year to run during this period. This five-story yacht was referred to in the press as the "Queen's floating palace", she was distinguished by her elegant and luxurious design, and the number of personnel involved in her maintenance was more than 240 people.

Boris Johnson wants to build a royal yacht for $278 million
HMY Britannia (photo from Wikipedia)

However, in 1997, the country's parliament stopped funding the yacht and removed it from service. Too high maintenance costs were named as the main motive for this decision.

The same question resurfaced in the current situation. In addition, there are doubts that the queen would approve such a project and use her late husband's name for it. Despite the fact that the Queen in the past loved to travel on a yacht and even shed a tear at the decommissioning ceremony of the Britannia, in the current situation, she may not support such an undertaking. 

Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip - photo: depositphotos.com.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Королева Елизавета II и Принц Филипп фото

Новая яхта, согласно предложению премьер-министра Великобритании, могла бы быть названа в честь недавно ушедшего принца Филиппа.

Борис Джонсон в очередной раз вызвал активные споры среди общественности Великобритании – на этот раз своим предложением построить новую королевскую яхту. Предполагаемая сумма постройки, согласно расчётам Министерство обороны страны, составляет порядка 200 миллионов фунтов стерлингов или 278 миллионов долларов. 

Постройкой яхты Джонсон предлагает почтить память недавно ушедшего принца Филиппа, назвав судно в его честь. Также подобный проект, по словам премьер-министра, позволит «продать Британию миру», улучшив имидж страны в глазах зарубежной общественности.

Стоимость постройки яхты вызвала возмущение у многих политических и общественных деятелей, которые активно критикуют современное состояние монархии в Великобритании. Также существенные споры вызывает тот факт, что на содержание роскошной яхты, если она все же будет построена, налогоплательщикам придётся тратить ежегодно значительные суммы. 

Разговоры о королевской яхте имеют долгую историю. Так с 1953 по 1997 год королевская семья совершала путешествия по всему миру на яхте «Британия». Содержание «Британии» обходилось в тот период примерно в 11 миллионов фунтов стерлингов в год. Эту пятиэтажную яхту в прессе называли «плавучим дворцом королевы», она отличалась элегантным и роскошным дизайном, а количество персонала, задействованного в её обслуживании составляло более 240 человек.

Борис Джонсон хочет построить королевскую яхту за $278 миллионов
HMY Britannia (фото из Wikipedia)

Однако в 1997 году парламент страны прекратил финансирование яхты и снял её с эксплуатации. Основным мотивом такого решения были названы слишком высокие расходы на содержание.

Этот же вопрос вновь всплыл и в текущей ситуации. К тому же высказываются сомнения о том, что королева одобрит подобный проект и использование для него имени её покойного мужа. Несмотря на то, что королева в прошлом любила путешествовать на яхте и даже прослезилась на церемонии вывода «Британии» из эксплуатации, в нынешней ситуации она может не поддержать подобное начинание. 

Королева Елизавета II и Принц Филипп – фотография: depositphotos.com.


Рубрика: Стиль; метки: , .
Публикации по теме

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *